In 2003 all learning, including mainstream qualifications, offered in Wales was brought into a single unifying structure – the Credit and Qualifications Framework for Wales (CQFW).The CQFW framework merges the concepts of volume of learning achievements (credit) and the demands made by that learning on the learner (level) to create a system that embraces all types and styles of learning, and all qualifications.

Credit is a means of recognising learning wherever, whenever and however it is achieved. It offers benefits to learners and employers by providing a system for valuing different qualifications in a consistent and standardised way. Credit is for all learners aged 14 and above. They will be able to benefit from Credit whether they are learning in the workplace, in the community, at school, college or university.

Agored Cymru is a Recognised Body within the CQFW and fully supports CQFW's 5 goals of:

  • enabling everyone to develop and maintain essential skills
  • encouraging people to become lifelong learners
  • supporting the development of skills in business and educational institutions
  • encouraging workers gain new skills
  • helping people within communities develop new skills

For further information about CQFW, visit the Welsh Government web pages.

As a CQFW awarding organisation, Agored Cymru operates within both the Regulated Qualifications and the Quality Assured Lifelong Learning (QALL) Pillars of CQFW. Through imaginative curriculum design Agored Cymru can build progression routes from adult and community learning, company training, voluntary sector learning and wider learning 14-19 into the Qualifications and Credit Framework. It does this in two ways:

  • by providing accredited progression routes that will prepare learners for qualifications, its own and those of other Awarding Organsations, and
  • by building into its own qualification design, the opportunity for learners to count units from QALL provision towards qualification achievement.
The CQFW presents qualifications in a way that is easy to understand and measure. Every unit and qualification in the framework will have a credit value (one credit represents 10 hours, showing how much time it takes to complete) and a level between Entry level and level 8 (showing how difficult it is).

There are three sizes of qualifications:

Awards (1 to 12 credits)
Certificates (13 to 36 credits)
Diplomas (37 credits or more).